AGM and Fundraising Auction held December 1, 2021

A very successful Annual General Meeting and fundraising auction was held on December 1, 2021, using Teams virtual meeting.  The meeting was called to order by President Des Plewman at 10:00 am, with 15 delegates present.  The sponsors for 2021 were recognized and thanked for their ongoing contributions to our Association:   The Western Producer, Global Auction Guide, 620 CKRM Regina, CKDM Dauphin, 750 CJVR Melfort, GX94 Yorkton, Biggar Independent Printers, Saskatoon Media Group, and the auction company members who donated items to the auction.  The auction realized just over $8,000 in proceeds.  Thank you to all who donated and bidded on the items.

The minutes of the 2020 AGM were read and adopted.  Committee reports were given, and received to file.  The financial statement for 2021 was received and adopted as presented.  Resolutions were accepted as follows:  #1.  That R Moore be appointed to conduct a review of the accounting procedures for 2022.  #2, That the 2022 AGM be held on Tuesday, November 29, 2022.  #3, That the 2022 AGM be held in the city of Regina.  #4, That the remuneration and travel allowance for board members be reduced to 0.00 for 2022, as meetings are held by Teams meetings.  #5:  That the SAA bylaws, Schedule 1, Classes of Membership be amended to include the statement that a regular member be a licensed auctioneer or the named principal of a licensed auction company, conducting live, timed online, live online, virtual bidding, or hosting a bidding platform, in the province of Saskatchewan.  This is to encompass all forms of auction business in the province, and to provide direction on membership especially when virtual auctions are concerned.  

The first, three year terms of Des Plewman and Kelly Schneider expired in 2021, and Terry McDougall resigned his board seat, as he will be retiring after the new year.  Nominations were declared open, with the following election results:  Des Plewman and Jamie Moore were elected to a three year term.  Frederick Bodnarus was elected to complete Terry’s term for one year, and will be eligible for re-election at the AGM in 2022.  Brad Stenberg and Dan Heslip were re-appointed for a second three year term to the Board of Trustees.  

Sincere thanks with our gratitude was extended to Yorkton Auction Centre, and Paul Moore, who graciously donated $2,000 to the Association, for ongoing expenses.  Terry McDougall gave praise to the Boards for their hard work for the Association, and delegates wished him well as he moves into retirement.   The meeting adjourned at 11:10 am.  


About saskauctioneers_4ocnjy

The Saskatchewan Auctioneers Association was established in February 1974 to provide a common forum in which to promote the services and position of the Saskatchewan auctioneering community.

Comments are closed.