50th Annual Convention and AGM a Great Success!

The 50th Annual Convention and AGM of the Saskatchewan Auctioneers Association was held on Wednesday, January 31, 2024, and was a great success!   The event, held at the Western Development Museum in North Battleford, SK was attended by 65 members and guests.  Included in the event was an induction ceremony of the Auction Era Hall of Honor.  We were extremely pleased to honor Barrie Jung of Melfort, Jason LeBlanc of Estevan, and Ivan White of North Battleford.  A report on that event will be posted seperately.  

The AGM was attended by 12 delegates and numerous guests.  General housekeeping reports were received, and elections of board members was held.  Declared elected by acclamation were Dan Heslip of Regina, Kelly Clarke of Rouleau, and Tracey Vereshine of Saskatoon.  A post AGM board meeting was held, and the executive for 2024 are:  President:  Jamie Moore of Yorkton; Vice-President:  Kelly Clarke of Rouleau;  Treasurer:  Dan Heslip of Regina.  Committees were struck for the year, and are indicated on the committee page of this website. The Board of Directors was pleased to appoint Neil Kramer of Battleford to a three year term on the Board of Trustees.  He replaces Richard Barnsley of Balcarres, who has completed his 2nd three year term.  The SAA wishes to thank Richard sincerely for his service to the Board of Trustees.  

Sponsors were recognized for their long-term support of the SAA:  The Western Producer, 620CKRM Radio, and GX94 Radio for 50 years, CJWW Radio for 30 years, and CJVR Radio for their numerous years of support.  Certificates of appreciation were distributed to the sponsors present:  Tim Kostiuk of CJWW Radio, and Colin Regier of The Western Producer.   We were pleased to welcome Dwayne Leslie of Aucteeno to his first year of sponsorship, and thank him for the partial sponsorship of the evening banquet.   Their ongoing support is essential to the operation of the Association, and we thank them sincerely.

At the evening banquet, long-term members were recognized, as well as past-presidents who could attend.  Past presidents in attendance were:  Doug McConnell, 1993;  Neil Kramer, 1981 and 1998; Harvey Balicki, 2003; Ivan White, 2008; Ken McDonald, 2011; Robert Ross, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2014;  Des Plewman, 2021, 2022; and Jamie Moore, 2023.  

Long term members in attendance were:  Scott Johnstone, Johnstone Auction Mart, 49 years; Myron Schmalz, Myron Schmalz Auction, 39 years; Des Plewman, Regina Auto Auction, 30 years; Kelly Schneider, Boechler/Schira Auctioneering, 31 years; Bruce Schapansky, Bruce Schapansky Auctioneers Inc., 25 years; Frederick Bodnaurs, Bodnaurs Auctioneers Inc., 24 years; Robert Ross, Double R Auctioneering & Appraisals, 22 years; Tracey Vereshine, Klass-A-Auctions, 20 years; Kelly Clarke, Ritchie Bros. Auctioneers, 19 years; Jamie Moore, Yorkton Auction Centre, 15 years; Dan Heslip, McDougall Auctioneers, 20 years.  

We were sorry to bid farewell to Barrie Jung of Melfort on the completion of his term as a Board of Director member.  As a member of the association for many years, Barrie has held all executive positions, and has served as Chair for the Board of Trustees.  We wish Barrie well as he steps away from active participation on the Boards.  

A live fundraiser auction completed the evening.  Generous donations from sponsors and attendees were auctioned, and a good deal of fun was had by all in attendance.  It certainly gives thought as to why live auctions were so popular prior to the current on-line trend.  We look forward to our 51st AGM in February of 2025.

About saskauctioneers_4ocnjy

The Saskatchewan Auctioneers Association was established in February 1974 to provide a common forum in which to promote the services and position of the Saskatchewan auctioneering community.

Comments are closed.